Everton FC
The Friedkin Group acquisition · 16 Sept 2024
- Buyer
- The Friedkin Group
- Seller
- Farhad Moshiri
- Stake acquired
- 98.8%
- Control
- Yes
- Reported consideration
- Undisclosed
- Implied equity value
- —
- League
- Premier League
- Country
- England
- Confidence
- MEDIUM
Buyer profile: The Friedkin Group / Pursuit Sports: clubs owned, where they buy next
The Friedkin Group acquired a 98.8% majority stake in Everton FC from Farhad Moshiri, announced 16 Sept 2024, closing 19 Dec 2024.
The purchase consideration was not disclosed. Reporting placed the club's value at ~€464m. €183m of debt was assumed or restructured.
Nearest pre-acquisition revenue was €200m (FY 2022/23).
- Announced
- 16 Sept 2024
- Closed
- 19 Dec 2024
- Stake after transaction
- 98.8%
- Status
- completed
Reported consideration
What the buyer reportedly paid for the stake
Implied 100% equity value
Calculated: consideration ÷ stake acquired
Reported club valuation
Enterprise value
Only shown when debt/cash near the transaction date is established
Debt assumed / restructured
Primary capital injection
Total announced investment commitment
Commitments are not purchase price and not valuation
Nearest pre-acquisition financial year: 2022/23
Revenue
Wages
EBITDA
Net debt
Net income
The Friedkin Group's Roundhouse Capital Holdings acquired 98.8% of Everton FC from Farhad Moshiri's Blue Heaven Holdings, completing 19 December 2024 after Premier League, FA, WPLL and FCA approvals. No party disclosed an official equity purchase price; media (BBC, widely syndicated) put the overall deal 'in excess of £400m', which we record as a REPORTED reported_club_valuation, not a consideration figure — it is unclear whether this £400m+ figure is equity consideration, enterprise value, or a blended estimate, so we deliberately do not relabel it.
- Premier League — "Everton confirm takeover by The Friedkin Group" ↗Tier 2 · primary league
2024-12-19 — “Confirms Roundhouse Capital Holdings Limited (an entity within The Friedkin Group) acquired a 98.8% stake in Everton from Farhad Moshiri's Blue Heaven Holdings, completed 19 December 2024, with approvals from Premier League, WPLL, FA and FCA.”
2024-12-19 — “Confirms completion details and notes Moshiri had increased his stake to 94.1% with a £100m capital injection by Jan 2022 (context on seller's prior position); does not disclose the Friedkin consideration figure.”
2024-12-19 — “Reports BBC's figure that the deal 'was worth in excess of £400 million ($506 million)'.”
- ToffeeWeb — "Friedkin Group cover Everton debt to MSP Sports Capital as part of takeover negotiations" ↗Tier 4 · specialist media
2024-10-01 — “Friedkin Group paid off the £158m MSP Sports Capital loan and took over MSP's charge over Everton Stadium Co Ltd, per Companies House filings, plus ~£40m extra short-term operating funds — a Premier League precondition for approving the takeover.”
- TheBusinessDesk.com — "Everton cuts annual losses, boosts revenue and contemplates stable future" ↗Tier 4 · specialist media
2025-03-28 — “Reports a £14.7m increase in turnover to £186.9m for FY2023/24, implying FY2022/23 turnover of £172.2m; also references the seventh consecutive loss and the Friedkin takeover context.”
- The Esk (Paul Quinn) — Part I: Everton Football Club Company Limited Annual Report and Accounts 2022/23 ↗Tier 3 · specialist media
2024-04-01 — “"Turnover fell from £181 million to £172.2 million"; "Overall staff costs reduced by £3 million from £162 million to £159 million"; "total wage to turnover ratio ... increased from 90% in 2021/22 to 92% in 2022/23"; "cash in the bank fell by a further £21.6million to £10.8 million as at 30 June 2023"; "In total, external debt stood at £341.4 million (2021/22 £174.1 million)"; "Shareholder loans totalled £450.75 million ... interest free" (Bluesky Capital / Moshiri).”
- The Athletic — Everton's financial plight laid bare as club reports £89.1m loss in latest accounts ↗Tier 2 · media
2024-04-01 — “"Everton have reported an £89.1million loss for the 2022-2023 season"; "the accounts showing the club's debt has ballooned to £330.6million".”