FBDFootball Business DeskFootball intelligence workspace
Menu
expansion franchise · United States · NWSL

Denver Summit FC

Rob Cohen (IMA Financial Group) with Project Level (Ariel Investments: Mellody Hobson, Jason Wright), FirstTracks Sports Ventures, Neelima Joshi & Dhiren Jhaveri, Molly Coors acquisition · 30 Jan 2025

Buyer
Rob Cohen (IMA Financial Group) with Project Level (Ariel Investments: Mellody Hobson, Jason Wright), FirstTracks Sports Ventures, Neelima Joshi & Dhiren Jhaveri, Molly Coors
Seller
National Women's Soccer League
Stake acquired
100%
Control
Yes
Reported consideration
€106m
Implied equity value
—
League
NWSL
Country
United States
Confidence
MEDIUM

Buyer profile: Rob Cohen / Project Level / FirstTracks Denver consortium: clubs owned, where they buy next

Transaction overview

Rob Cohen (IMA Financial Group) with Project Level (Ariel Investments: Mellody Hobson, Jason Wright), FirstTracks Sports Ventures, Neelima Joshi & Dhiren Jhaveri, Molly Coors acquired 100% of Denver Summit FC from National Women's Soccer League, announced 30 Jan 2025.

Reported consideration was €106m.

Announced
30 Jan 2025
Closed
30 Jan 2025
Stake after transaction
100%
Status
completed
Valuation

Reported consideration

What the buyer reportedly paid for the stake

REPORTED

Implied 100% equity value

Calculated: consideration ÷ stake acquired

UNAVAILABLE

Reported club valuation

UNAVAILABLE

Enterprise value

Only shown when debt/cash near the transaction date is established

UNAVAILABLE

Debt assumed / restructured

UNAVAILABLE

Primary capital injection

UNAVAILABLE

Total announced investment commitment

Commitments are not purchase price and not valuation

UNAVAILABLE
Club at acquisition

Revenue

UNAVAILABLE

Wages

UNAVAILABLE

EBITDA

UNAVAILABLE

Net debt

UNAVAILABLE

Net income

UNAVAILABLE
Analyst noteWhat is known, what is uncertain, and how figures were derived

NWSL formally awarded its 16th franchise to Denver on 30 Jan 2025 (league release). The $110m expansion fee — more than double the Bay FC/Boston fees 16-22 months earlier — is reported by Sportico, The Athletic, CNBC and ESPN from sources; the league did not state it. It is a fee for a new slot, paid in tranches, not an equity purchase, so no valuation is derived.

Cap-table percentages are undisclosed and the group said it could add investors. The club (Denver Summit FC) began play in 2026. FX: USD→EUR 0.96. Franchise-model caveat: MLS/NWSL/Liga MX values are closed-league franchise prices (no relegation risk, league-controlled entry, single-entity revenue sharing in MLS) and are NOT comparable to European open-pyramid club prices, where sporting risk and player-trading economics drive value.

Sources (4)
  1. 2025-01-30 — “League release: Denver awarded 16th franchise, begins 2026; ownership group Rob Cohen (controlling owner/governor), Project Level (Ariel), FirstTracks, Joshi/Jhaveri, Molly Coors; Hobson alternate governor. Fee not stated.”

  2. 2025-01-30 — “$110 million expansion fee, largest in US women's sports; first part paid before end of 2024; beat Cleveland and Cincinnati bids.”

  3. 2025-01-30 — “Denver group paid a $110 million expansion fee, more than double the $53m paid by Bay FC and Boston.”

  4. 2025-01-30 — “Record $110 million expansion fee per person familiar with the deal; Cohen controlling owner.”

Club Deals Radar